Some people believe that everyone has a right to have access to university education and that governments should make it free for all students no matter what financial background they have. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Education plays a pivotal role in every human’s life. Having said that, some individuals hold the view that the governing authorities ought to provide free university education to all categories of people irrespective of their financial status. I completely disagree with this view since it creates turmoil in society. First and foremost, what remains the predominant factor for not accepting the free university education provided by ruling authorities without considering people’s monetary resources is the loss of the college’s reputation. In other words, opting for any course in an educational institution, a student should be directed by the lecturers to find a definite career path according to their ability. However, most teachers who are working in a university that is free of cost, would not be interested to interact with every student since there would be more strength in every class. Consequently, it leads to poor performance of the university despite being named as a reputed institution. Secondly, lack of interest among students is another significant reason to consider that abolishing university fees by the government for all classes of people would not provide a fruitful result. In general, every human tends to have a mindset that anything which comes for free will not have a personal touch. Owing to this reason, if every learner gets an opportunity to pursue their free tertiary education, it would create a carefree mindset among them, and as a result, it creates unemployment in every society in a long run. For instance, a recent survey has shown that 60% of college students who opted for free education, struggling to find a job on their own because of their low grades. In conclusion, I opine that the ruling authorities should consider the financial background of the students and should not provide free education to all the students considering the holistic development of an individual.