Some people think that advertising on TV is useless, and others disagree. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Since the early 1930s, television, or TV, has been a powerful audio-visual medium with wide acceptability among the masses. I clearly remember the year 1982- that year the Asiad games were in town, and the Indian government decided to telecast the games live on TV. There was a rush to buy TV sets and everybody was glued to their TVs watching the games unfold. After the 1990s, the government handed over broadcasting to private channels and the TV was flooded with advertising of all types. In the following paragraphs, I will examine the pros and cons of advertising and how the audience has been affected by it. On its own, advertisements have been beneficial for people. For example, it is difficult to demonstrate the virtues of a car or a pump, in print media. On TV, this car can dash down the road and take a sharp turn, and the audience loves this dramatization. Again, it is fun to watch models flaunt dresses and jewellery on the screen. Research has also shown that the sales of consumer goods are in direct proportion to the revenue spent on TV advertisements. Hence, decidedly, TV advertisements are useful. So, is everything fine in the TV advertisement paradise? Apparently not! Firstly, advertisers interrupt prime telecasts to peddle their wares. Secondly, they interfere with the content and promote storylines that favour their products- for example, the hero is made to drink a particular cola brand etc. Thirdly, they disrespect our cultural values- for example, advertisements for condoms and sanitary napkins are inserted during family viewing hours. Thus, TV ads have their fair share of drawbacks. Having examined both sides of the coin, I will now conclude with my opinion. I feel that since advertisers pay for much of the content on TV, they should get a fair share of the broadcast time, however, they should respect cultural values and not interfere with the viewing pleasure of the audience.