Some people argue that it is important to have a university degree to secure a good job, while others believe that work experience and personal skills are more crucial. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

A handful of people hold the opinion that it is vital to possess an undergraduate degree in order to have a career. On the other hand, there are also many that opine to that opinion stating that soft skills are more crucial. In this essay, I will delve into both of these opposing views and provide my personal opinion. In light of the current job market, possessing at least an undergraduate degree is a minimum requirement. This piece of qualification provides the employer the evidence that the applicant has undergone a tertiary education which emphasises academic rigour and also advanced topics at their choice of study. It also exhibits grit that the applicant continues to turn up at an institution three to four years consecutively and at the same time able to gain competency despite how hard the course was. With this, they will be able to trim the crop to what is appropriate for the company. Adding on, a certain job nature requires a certain entry requirement in order to uphold the respective office needed for it. For instance, the work of a manager would definitely require someone who commands respect academically along with advanced critical thinking skills which the tertiary education has prepared them for. On the opposite side of this education coin, as there are a plethora of universities globally, multiplied by the number of graduates annually, it is not difficult to find someone with a university degree. However, what is hard to come by are soft skills or previous working experiences which can be an added bonus when deciding between two competent applicants. These soft skills showcase that these applicants do not just regurgitate information at school but also carry real-life experiences. For instance, the work of an aircraft engineer would surely benefit the hiring company if the applicant has worked with other aircraft before which will result in the worker's capability to hire. To conclude, personally, I believe that work experiences have a slight edge in the pursuit of a good career. This is because the job market is currently saturated with degree holders and in order to stand out from this crowd, having prior work experience and relevant soft skills with definitely be an added advantage over those without.