Various governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Since the 1800s, economists like Adam Smith and Karl Marx have studied and proposed that growth should be measured in economic terms, and the world over, governments and financial institutions have accepted it. Several economic metrics like GDP, inflation, public debt etc and other jargon has filled our lexicon. Are these measures adequate to measure progress? In the following paragraphs, I will explore both these views and provide my opinion. Firstly, we will analyze the rationale for economic indicators of progress. The best thing is that these indicators are measurable, and not only are they measurable, but they are also consistent in time and space. This means that we can compare, for example, the present economy of India with the British economy in the 1600s. Secondly, since these are agreed upon by all governments, they can be used as stable indices for grading and rating countries and global businesses. Lastly, since the entire progress is summed up in a number, economic indices are convenient tools for discussions and debates. However, as many sociologists have pointed out, economic indices are not inclusive and do not reveal the true picture. For instance, the United States has a GDP per capita of $ 65,000.00, but does it mean that everyone has $ 65,000.00? Hardly at all! There are thousands of homeless in the United States, which these metrics gloss over. Hence, many commentators have highlighted the need for having inclusive measures of progress. For example, Bhutan has Gross National Happiness to measure its progress, and she has been praised by many for this far-sighted thought. Bangladesh also tries to measure its progress based on social indicators like fertility ratios and education levels of women. Hence, countries are trying to use social rather than economic indicators of progress. In conclusion, after analyzing both views, I am of the opinion that we cannot forsake economic indicators of progress However, we must also include social indicators as measures of growth for a holistic view of the situation.