People sleep less than they used to in the past. What do you think is the reason for this? What are the effects on them?

People are generally sleeping less compared to what they used to before. This phenomenon is caused by overwork and it results in general tiredness of the body for the majority of populations nowadays. In recent years, the job- markert has been characterised by tough competition hence the need to work more hours than before. Everyone is almost always busy as deadlines have become tighter mainly due to dramatic rise in populations across the devide divine. Offce hours have become longer to the extent that some actually sleep at the office because there is so much work to do.Closure of business hours has also been extended to suit these hectic schedules, that is,a normal working day now closes at 10pm compared to 5pm in the 1980s. For instance,a recently commissioned study in the United states in 2020 revealed that an average person now sleeps 4.4 hours lesser than before. However, this has caused a series of impacts on the general well being of people,the major one being fatigue.When people sleep less,it means the body does not recover well because sleep rejuvenates the body and mind. This results in generalised tiredness of the body, subsequently leading to poor health and living standards.To add on to this, fatigue directly impacts productivity negatively because when people are exhausted, productivity significantly declines resulting in low income hence an economic meltdown is inevitable. For instance,a study was carried out at a Texas construction company involved hundred builders, whereby half of them were allowed enough 8 hours of sleep,while the other half were deprived of this necessity,all for five days.The results were clear that those who had adequate sleep produced more results and were generally lively than those who slept less. In summation, hectic work schedules are the major cause of sleep deprivation nowadays than in the past and the effects are general body malaise and diminished production.