The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are advantage and disadvantages to having one language In the world?

The tourism industry is one of the reasons why English has become the most famous language worldwide. Some people believe that because of this cause English will turn out to be the international language. This essay will discuss both the positive and negative aspects of having one language in the world. One evident benefit of having one global language is that the communications become clear. Residents from different countries speak different mother tongues, hence the interactions of visitors become difficult with foreigners during their travelling periods, and consequently, travellers begin to face various issues along the way. Therefore, one standard language helps tourists in numerous ways, for example, in hotel bookings, finding eateries, and so on. Another advantage is the navigation of routes. Visitors can easily reach their destinations while abroad. Turning to the other side of the argument, there are also some drawbacks to having one international tongue. One of them is the urge of learning mother tongues from different parts of the world will soon disappear. For example, countries like Japan, France, and China discourage the use of English in their homelands in order to keep the worth of their own local tongues. Another demerit is the loss of cultural diversity in nations as language has a vital role in keeping the societal norms and traditions alive. To conclude, although there are plus points to having one global language, too much will be lost as a result. Maintaining local languages and cultures is also imperative to ensure diversity in living standards.