There is growing evidence that man-made activities are making global temperatures higher. What might be the man-made causes of temperatures rising? How should we deal with this problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Global warming is the next big disaster looming on our mother earth. Humans have achieved a lot of technological milestones. Ironically, we have now managed to reach the moon but have made our own planet inhabitable. Hence, there is no doubt that man-made activities are responsible for rising temperatures worldwide. This has further created problems such as excessive melting of glaciers and ever-increasing sea levels. Firstly, the most important causes of global warming are deforestation and air pollution due to release of the greenhouse gases. The increasing human population throughout the world has strained our natural resources such as fossil fuels. This in turn leads to the exploitation of easily available alternatives like wood. Secondly, the unhindered release of greenhouse gases into the atmosphere has caused immense air pollution. Consequently, this has led to a decrease in the ozone layer that protects us from harmful ultraviolet rays. It also reduces the trapping of air in the earth's atmosphere and thus, prevents temperatures from soaring so high. Governments around the globe have racked their brains on many occasions so as to find a solution to this problem. I think that world leaders should show a strong commitment to restrict their toxic gas emissions to the lowest possible level. Also, climate change activists like Greta Thunberg and other non-government organisations working towards afforestation should be encouraged and applauded. The leaders should be held accountable in case these goals are not completed from time to time. We as humans need to step up our efforts. Otherwise, we will be responsible for the extinction of our own human civilisation.