In some countries, an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is, therefore, necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent (how much) do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Higher intake of the fast food in the past decades has had a strong negative effect on population's overall health. Some people believe that increasing tax rates on such food is the necessery in order to solve this. However, in this essay, I will elaborate on why I think that it might not be the best solution and explain how raising society's conciouseness about negative effects is more efficient way. It is undoubtable that putting a higher taxes on unhealthy products will increase their prices and thus, deter part of the population from buying it. The main problem with this is that these minimal jumps in price tags will, in fact, impact the decisions just of the people with serious financial struggles which represent only a small part of a nation. Furthermore, it will negatively affect ecnomics, more precisely it will endanger profitability of fast food related companies. Hence, the consequences of this solution are not likely to be worth a small decreases in consummation consumation of similar products. On the other hand, if the government redirects its foucus toward raising the conciousness of the nation about importance of healthy diet, it will not only avoid consequences related to the economy, but also affect a wider range of population. This could be done through implementing health education classes in schools for instance, or conversely, lowering fees on nutritious groceries. Therefore, if people could recognize all the deasises caused by high intake of the fast food and all the postive aspect of nutritious diet, the majority of the problem would be solved. In conclusion, I firmly believe that higher fees would not have considerable positive effect on the amount of nutritiously poor food consumed and that promoting healthy lifestyle would be significantly more effective.