It is often said “when in Rome, do as the Romans do.” Do you think people should adapt and accept the culture of the country they visit? Do you think it is possible to learn a culture without learning the language?

Some people believe that tourists visiting another country ought to adapt to its culture. In my perspective, I strongly agree with this view as tourists should respect and follow the traditions of the country of destination and knowing their language will gain a deeper understanding of its culture. To begin with, adapting and accepting the custom and traditions are considered to be crucial as a way of showing respect towards its culture. This may increase the interaction with the local people and help the tourists gain a deeper travel experience. In some nations, the culture and lifestyle have been taken seriously. For instance, women who visit Arabic are required to wear their traditional custom scarf over their heads. However, people would be in trouble if they do not adhere to this custom in this place. Therefore, acting upon the other countries traditions is beneficial for their trip. Meanwhile, language plays a crucial role in understanding a new culture. Language is not only meaning as the communication, it is a fundamental element and related significantly to one’s culture. For example, if a person lacks knowledge of the language, they will not access the folklore and custom in that country. In addition, people are the representatives of a culture, and it is impossible to understand a civilization without connecting with the locals. Thus, language has a primary impact on learning the culture. In conclusion, foreign tourists should accept the native culture of the country they visit as it is an act of paying respect to their culture. Furthermore, language is a connection with the culture and promote cultural understanding.