Illiteracy continues to be a concern for many centuries in the world today. What are the causes of illiteracy in the modern world, and what effects does it have on the people concerned and on society as a whole?

In this contemporary world, the ignorance of reading or writing still exists and resumes to be an issue for many countries. There seem to be two main causes and two effects on both sides of people and society, which we will discuss here. The major cause is perhaps contingent on where those illiterates live. It appears that most of those people live in the rural area or countryside which is almost forgotten by the authorities and undeveloped. Certainly, there is a lack of educational accessibility in these deprived areas. Another reason for this situation seems related to what they do for a living. Many surveys show that most illiterates work in unskilled labor job, which is mostly manual or physical types of work in general. So this kind of job position usually does not require any educational qualifications. Thus, for instance, If people work on a farm in the countryside, and do outdoor duties all day long, might cause them do not to want to become literate. Turning to the possible effects, this subject might lead to unemployment. Cause of, it will be so difficult for people who have not basic skill in reading or writing to find a job that they want. Undoubtedly, most positions in the work area, at least require fundamental skills like reading, writing. While these basic requirements are becoming higher day by day. On the other side, having tons of illiterate citizens can cause them to make wrong decisions in the government election. Because those uneducated people have a low chance of choosing the right candidate based on resourceful information. Thus, in the future, this situation can conduct to insufficient decisions by the mistakenly chosen politicians. Overall, lack of educational accessibility in the deprived areas and needless literacy in the some work area seems to be the main causes, and they might lead to unemployment and blind choice for the election of the authorities. Those results will affect both sides of people and society.