‘All children should learn to speak foreign language as soon as they start school.’ How important is it for a child to learn a foreign language?

As living in this globalized world, it is widely believed that most kids need to study a different language once they begin to go to school. It’s almost universally accepted that acquiring a non- native language than learning only a native language at a young age is more beneficial for children. In this essay, I shall explain why this is crucial for them to explore another language at the beginning of school. Firstly, scientists prove that a language acquisition level is higher at a young age than in adulthood. It is because children’s brains have not fully developed yet, thus, it increases the ability to absorb new information quickly and naturally. So, if kids could learn other tongues in their junior years, they might be able to speak fluently in their senior grades. Moreover, according to several surveys, it appears that language shapes the way we think. By means, our minds and perspectives can be wider as we acquire a new foreign language. Importantly, this fact could bring enormous support to the children’s brain development and the process of building their mindset. Despite this, opponents of this idea believe that children should focus on only their mother tongue in their earlier grades at school. Because now the traditional language is being forgotten among the youngsters. Even though, at the age of junior grade students’, most of them are already able to speak in their origin language well. So, it makes this age proper period to focus on another language. Overall, a high level of language acquisition skills and the possibility to grow up as an open- minded individual at a young age makes learning different languages at the starting of school is a crucial statement in this modern world.