Illiteracy continues to be a concern for many countries in the world today. What are the causes of illiteracy in the modern word, and what effects does it have on the people concerned and on society as a whole?

Today, increasing illiteracy is certainly a topical issue, as so many countries are including this pattern today. There are two main cause, and two key impacts, which I will outline now. The major cause is probably lack of affordable education facilities. The nearest school might be found several miles away. It seemed instead of going through the tiresome process of walking for long distances on a daily basis just go to school, many choose to stay at home. Another well known cause is many illiterate parents do not put much emphasis on the importance of education. This is especially true in remote areas where many people in the older generation have not gone through formal education. Perhaps the main impact is on the economic and social progress. People who have gone to school or are well educated have the expertise and intelligence to make good investment decisions and drive the growth agenda of a nation. Illiteracy, therefore, hinders the development of the country. We can see this clearly in Ethiopia, which level of education is low. The other main effect is on social crime. Through education, a person can cultivate some civic sense and develop behavior patterns that are socially acceptable. In countries where the number of those who have not gone to school is high, social crime levels also tend to be high. In conclusion, lack of education facilities and illiterate family are two factors contributing to illiteracy rates. To deal with this problem, investment in school infrastructure and the introduction of free education are two viable solutions.