In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In these recent times, more businesses introduce to society that their products are new. There seem to be some causes to this issue and I will explain whether this is a positive or negative development. Possibly the main cause to this issue is sales, as companies want to increase their profit and most likely people buy stuff which has value to their life. For example, a material manufacturing company sells their reusable shopping bag to customers as it is more durable and gives a better impact on the environment compared to the conventional plastic bag. Secondly, the other potential cause is because businesses try to create positive brand awareness to the public. Businesses stress more the features and the usefulness of their products in their advertisement to be able to get better recognition and this is crucial for the whole company so that they stay ahead of their competitors and therefore they survive in the business world. Take an online e-commerce company Tokopedia, for example, the company paid for a huge billboard as their medium of advertisement, where the company massively promotes instant delivery within 2 hours after checking out the item. The effect of this way of marketing may lead to a positive development as companies are always in a race to develop a better value, feature, or function for their products or services. It sounds like the fuel for businesses to be able to survive and thus they always innovate their products or invent new ones. By understanding people’s pain points, may result in preferable daily human problems. For instance, Gojek is an on-demand raid hailing service, initially they only offered motorcycle transportation as their service and now they develop it to include more variety of vehicles to accommodate people needs. Overall, better sales and brand awareness appear to be possible causes of this issue and it affects the positive development of society.