Television dominates the free time of too many people. It can make people lazy and prevent them from socialising with others. Do you agree or disagree?

Television is very popular and is the major source of entertainment in our daily life. I firmly believe that if we spend more of our leisure time on watching television, we will become more reluctant to involve in exercising and social gathering. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons for the mentioned situation with examples. Firstly, a wide range of television programs, such as cartoons, TV dramas, documentary programs, would easily make people addicted. People tend to spend a long time on TV which prevent them from participating in other activities. Hence, such a sedimentary lifestyle is detrimental to their health. For example, children need to have more exercise every day which is essential for their health and well-being. However, they prefer to watch cartoons instead of going out for exercise, which would lead to obesity and other health issues in their life. Secondly, most television dramas on prime time last for a couple of weeks which people would glue their eyes on the tv screen. For instance, people used to have a stroll after dinner with family members or meet with their friends in the evening, it helped them to stay connected with others. But the time is substituted by the TV programs, their social activities would become lesser and lesser. As a consequence, they would be isolated. In conclusion, spending more time in front of the television will affect our health and social life. We should be aware of the situation and keep our lives in a balanced way.