Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is sometimes argued that governments focus more concentrations on roads instead of railway systems. Personally, I completely agree with the idea that governments should develop the underground rather than road transportation. On the one hand, I agree that road transportations are necessary for the public to commute in daily life. For example, the local resident can drive their car to everywhere they want to go. However, the railway systems cannot reach every place where you want to go. And also, tourists can rent a vehicle when they are planning a trip instead of by public transportation. It is convenient for tourists to have a tour by car because they do not have to pick up their luggage for the whole trip. Nevertheless, I believe that governments should have more budgets on railway systems. Firstly, the road systems are good enough to let people commute every day. By contrast, it is time for the underground to refurbish, because it is too old to commute normally. Secondly, railway systems have their own routes, thus, it is suitable for people who have incidents suddenly. This may prevent people from getting stuck in traffic. Finally, you do not have to worry about the fewer parking spaces and the high parking fees. For example, Taipei city is crowded, if you drive a car, it is hard for you to find a parking space or the parking fees are quite high. In conclusion, road transportations are essential for the public, while spending more money on railway systems is the correct thing which governments should do in recent years.