Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not locals. Why is this the case and what can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

The majority of museums and historical places ’ visitors are tourists, and just a few numbers of them are local people. This occurrence may happen based on two logical reasons, and there may be some ways to alter this situation, which both will be explained in this essay. Firstly, historical places and museums may be one of the main tourist attractions of every country. As travelers’ ultimate purpose is to be accustomed to the history of their destination and sightseeing, they are the main visitors of any country's galleries and historical landmarks. For instance, those who travel to Paris plan to visit Louvre Museum as it is one the most popular sites in this city. Moreover, despite the tourists on an excursion and have free time for sightseeing, most local people have a busy daily schedule and cannot allocate specific time for visiting these places. Besides, some of them would prefer spending their time doing more fun activities rather than visiting monuments, even if they had free time as they find this action tedious. There may be ways to attract more local people to the historical places and museums, such as making the surrounding area of these places more attractive. For example, there should be some high-quality restaurants around the historical sites with spectacular eye-catching landscapes in order to attract people to these places. In addition, there should be some discounts on entrance fees of the museums for local people. Thus, people may become captivated to visit these places with lower prices. To conclude, it seems logical that the main visitors of each country's museums and historical sites are tourists due to their desire to know about the past days and their plans to sightsee. There may be some actions to take such as opening high-quality restaurants in the vicinity of the monuments and entrance fee discounts of the museums to draw more local people to these places.