News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news? Would it be better if more good news was reported? Use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

News editors have a tough job to do as they are the ones who mostly decide what news to broadcast or publish. However, to do their jobs, editors, around the world, rely on several factors which influence their decisions. I think we become accustomed to the type of news we like to read as readers, and it would definitely be more useful if more positive and encouraging news is reported. To begin with, some of the factors that influence news editors may include the cultural, political and religious tradition of a country while “freedom of speech” can also be a deciding factor in some countries. By taking all of these factors into proper consideration, the editors want to make sure that certain news doesn’t cause any unnecessary chaos, confusion or controversy among people while also maintaining the “authenticity” of the news at the same time as best as possible. After all, broadcast and newspaper media also have a very important role in maintaining peace and order. The number of readers is also something they keep in their mind. Of course, this is true for the most major mainstream broadcast and print media. But, not all broadcast and print media in this world necessarily fall into this “mainstream” category as there are others who think that there is nothing called “bad” news, subject to its definition, as they also “reveal” some ugly and controversial aspects of our life and society. Overall, I guess, I don’t necessarily agree with the idea of “getting used to bad news ” as readers and viewers we always have the freedom to choose the type of news we want to view or read. In the same way, as much as we like the sound of reporting “good news ”, broadcast and print media don’t display “good news ” just for the sake of it. But I also happen to believe that we should have more good news to encourage people to feel better and become encouraged. To conclude, presenting news and informing people is a big job for news editors and to uplift our inspiration and motivation, more good news should be presented to us.