Some people think parents should supervise their children’s activities closely, while others believe children should have more freedom. Discuss

The matter of educating youngsters has always been a hot topic for debate. There are two main sides of the argument, centring around the question of whether or not should kids commit mistakes. While some people believe youngsters should freely do what they think is correct and should bear the responsibilities coming from their actions, the proponents argue that the role of adults in teaching their kids is to stop them before they make errors. Personally, I think that a compromise between two perspectives, letting kids do what they want but in set boundaries of rules. This essay aims to elaborate on both sides and to explain my opinion regarding the topic. On one hand, many adults claim that self-correction is the best mean of education. It is undeniable that solving the problems they cause in the first place can provide children with an experience of an error they made which will prevent them from committing mistakes. A case of this type of thinking in effect is the famous tennis player Roger Federer was a rich spoiled brat, he did so many non-sportsman activities on the tennis court including breaking rackets and harassing the opponents, he had not listened to his coach before he realised his awful actions. After he understood his faults, he became one of the most generous tennis players of all time inside the court as well as outside. Nevertheless, not everyone is as fortunate as Roger Federer. Nowadays, teenagers are getting into mistakes, the horrendous ones, such as taking drugs and smoking. On the other hand, parental guidance can prevent a young lad from committing petty crimes. A large portion of growing consists of listening to the elders, in this case, the parents. Their knowledge and experience are shared with the offspring to prepare them to face the world. For instance, when a child grows up in an extended family, he receives a lot of attention and care from family members, especially grandparents. And due to their life-long experience in dealing with different types of people, grandparents can easily identify their grandchildren's companies which are harmful. Thus, growing up in a nuclear family helps the children to grow in a safe and secure environment. However, forcing a child not to do what parents deem to be risky can lead to many detrimental impacts, one of which is complete dependency on parental guidance. For example, many modern adults lack the ability to decide for themselves what they want to do, having to continuously ask their parents about their choices. In conclusion, both sides have merits and demerits regarding their efficiency and long-term effects on children. As a result, I believe that allowing a child some freedom in a set boundary defined by rules is the most efficient measure to teach young lads about life.