The governments should give each citizen a basic income so that they have enough money to live on ,even if they are not unemployed. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

One of the purposes of the governments is to exert the quality of living of citizens. Although some may think that the governments should provide a standard subsidy to each citizen for their living, I totally disagree with the suggestion. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons for my view. First of all, the amount for giving a basic subsidy to each member of society is an extremely huge amount of money. Take Hong Kong as an example, its population is about 7 million people. If the Hong Kong government subsidies each citizen for his basic living, it would require trillions of money each year. Thus, it creates a huge unbearable financial burden for the government. Secondly, it is the responsibility of society members to earn their own living. People develop their sense of worth and identity through working and contributing to society. For example, if a person relies on the government ’s financial support to live instead of working hard for themselves, they would feel worthless. It is not good for the well-being of a person. What is more, the more the people rely on the government ’s subsidisation for living, the weaker the workforce in the society. The productivity of society would, therefore, decrease and the society will be less sustainable and prosperous in the future. In conclusion, providing a basic income to each society member not only will cause an extremely large financial burden to the government, it is also detrimental to the society and the citizens themselves. In my viewpoint, it is not a wise decision for the government.