The governments should give each citizen a basic income so that they have enough money to live on, even if they are unemployed. To what extent do you agree or disagree?c

Some today are calling for the institution of a universal basic income for all citizens. In my opinion, while this addresses legitimate fears concerning automation, it would be ill-advised overall as work is central to the human condition. Those who advocate this legislation point out unemployment risks. Wealth is today accumulated amongst a very small percentage of billionaires. In the future, this situation will be exacerbated by rising corporate investment into advanced robotics and artificial intelligence. For instance, 50 years ago there were thousands of jobs for those working in factories assembling cars and other products. Today, the vast majority of that work is done by machines and humans must locate more creative avenues of employment. The fear that someday most workers will no longer have a viable role in society does justify the discussion of a universal wage. However, these future possibilities are not assured and work is still an essential part of being human. Each person has a duty in their personal lives, typically as part of a family, as well as in public through their work. Only by fulfilling each responsibility fully will a person feel connected to the history and present of human progress. A universal wage would allow individuals to focus exclusively on their family and their hobbies but it is nearly impossible to predict possible deeper ramifications. Individuals may lose the motivation to innovate and the world would, in that case, be run by unimaginative technocrats and machines. In conclusion, though it seems that capitalism will someday necessitate a reform such as a basic income for all, I believe there is enough value in work that alternatives should be pursued instead. Idealistic dreams of a world without work are naive and short-sighted.