The advent of the internet has made it possible for people to work from home. Do you feel this working arrangement has more advantages or disadvantages? Share personal examples in your essay

The emergence of the internet has revolutionized all aspects of our lives. Since the covid 19 pandemic, most companies have readily institutionalized work from home as the new normal. Though there are many advantages to this methodology, there are few disadvantages too. I personally think that there are more benefits to this than there are drawbacks. These will be illustrated in detail. On the one hand, operating from home has provided the flexibility to white-collar workers to choose their own working hours. For instance, they no longer have to rigidly abide by the office hours which was a necessity a few years prior. Moreover, they can spend quality time with family which they long for when they are in a physical office. Rather than worrying about commute and rent expenses, employees can now concentrate more on their work. More importantly, if employees eat healthy food in their houses they are more likely to stay healthy and take lesser sick leaves. On the other hand, there are few important downsides to this approach. As we work in our personal space, the boundary between our personal and professional lives can often get blurred. For example, noises of infants and other family members may interrupt the focus and unavoidable scenarios such as replying to a greeting will arise. Furthermore, direct communication with colleagues helps to gain a deeper working insight than online interaction. However, these factors can be avoided by settings such as an isolated room and uninterrupted internet connection. In conclusion, the arrival of the internet has truly disrupted the way we work in these times. Though there are many benefits to the home work setup, there are also few downsides to it. Shall we then dislike this methodology? The answer is no, as these minuses can be overcome by meticulous planning and proper resources. The advantages outweigh the disadvantages by far.