Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

These days public opinion is divided over the reasons for learning a foreign language. From my point of view, being able to speak any language, mainly the international one, is essential for everyone. To begin with, mastering a new language requires a bulk of time and energy. On its strength, only those who are in the hope of travelling or working or studying abroad should spend this significant amount of time and effort. In contrast, others may better concentrate on learning the skills needed for their occupations. Besides, people are not in the need of using any other form of language than their own mothers’ tongue on the daily basis activities like shopping or creating an account in the bank. Therefore, it can be argued that mastering a new language is not suitable for everyone. On the other hand, living in the modern era acquires the basic knowledge of other languages. As long as individuals would want to access the Internet or use any state-of-the-art devices like mobile phones, they should have layers of understanding of a Lingua Franca. Along with, language is a medium by means of communicating; thus, the importance of the sense of communication which is brought with a knowledge of any language should be considered. Being able to speak with people from varying cultures and different walks of life and the chance to make a wide circle of friends via social media is a compelling reason worth one’s while learning a foreign tongue. To draw a conclusion, while some believe that the cogent reasons for learning a foreign language are limited, others argue that there are many underlying reasons besides travelling and working overseas to master it. I am of the opinion that this is a crucial part of everyone’s life.