With the rise of e-books comes the decline in paper books. Some people see this as a good step forward while others do not. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

In the era of technology, paper books are no longer the only option for reading when e- books appear. This sparked a discussion on whether it is a positive or negative development. There are two primary reasons why reading electronic books are more advantageous than reading a hard copy, Firstly, it is far more Eco- friendly, The lumberjack does not have to cut down the trees which eventually lowers environmental impact, Extensive research has been made by Australian Universities, for example, a recent publication shows that with the launch of ebook the demand for paper books has been declined by the almost 30%. Secondly, cost-saving, individual does not have to go beyond their budget against shipping and handling cost because these books can easily be downloadable from a server or they can easily go through it online with a small device. One research article suggests that online reading and downloading supersede the hard copy delivery of the books by 36%. Overall, e- books are better than traditional books because of their low deforestation impact and cost-effectiveness. On the other hand, one cannot turn a blind eye to the disadvantages as well, primarily, the piracy, the authors and publishers are cross sword against the pirated copies of those books. Although, they introduce patent rights but still, it is a significant issue nowadays. For instance, most of the underdeveloped countries cannot afford those books, so they opt for pirated versions. Consequently, the life span, as scientists are brainstorming ideas to develop the method to keep those books in cloud storage for hundreds of years, even though they are still struggling to get the best way to protect, for example, ABC cloud software has been launched to maintain the data for years. To conclude, E- books have become increasingly common, while individuals no doubt experiences piracy and data maintenance, is in fact, these barriers will lead to the main advantage of reading e- books which is Eco-friendly and cost-effective. Hence it is believed that in years to come, the world would see a rapid rise in their sales.