Question: The governments should give each citizen a basic income so that they have enough money to live on, even if they are unemployed. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Answer: There is an increasing trend of unemployment around the globe and under such circumstances it would be a smart move to provide unemployed people with a basic sum of money. However, same cannot be said for providing income to each citizen. In my opinion, it is a wastage of national treasure which could better be used for further developments. Employed citizens already have a source of income. when a person can earn by himself, he does not require financial support from the state and to give it regardless, would weaken the economic state of the country as the government would be distributing free funds to people who don't really need it. There are already many ways in which the state eases the lives of its population by providing education, health care and other amenities for free or subsidized rates. Nonetheless, it is considerable to hand out money to people who have lost their jobs. It can also include citizens who have permanent or temporary disability which resulted in their unemployment. This would ensure that they are not completely broke or become homeless just because they are unable to earn. There is chance that people would take undue advantage of the same and stop trying to earn their own bread because someone else is already platting it out for them. Policies and measures shall be taken to avoid such circumstances. To conclude, i think that only the needy must be provided with a certain sum and not everyone because it would ultimately result in unwanted flush of money which would have better been used for accomplishing other goals.