Competitiveness is a positive quality for people in most societies. How does competitiveness affect individuals? Is it a positive or negative trend?

competitiveness is pervasive, and people are likely to encounter it in almost every aspect of their lives. Although competitiveness sometimes enables people to perform better, it also results in high level of pressure for people who are competitive. I believe it has an adverse impact on us because it makes us become low self-esteem. One the one hand, competitiveness makes us achieve better performance. Competitiveness enables people to set up a meaningful goal, enabling them to pursue it through hard working, overcoming difficulties and pushing their limits. They can, therefore, obtain better outcomes and performance. For example, most athletes are required to be competitive during training, because they need to push their body limits to be the winner in competitions. On the other hand, excessive exposure to competitiveness brings people high level of pressure. People always want to win others in a competitive environment, and hence, they pay more attention to opponent’s achievements rather than caring about their own ones. People are likely to become sad and frustrated when they did not do better than them, even though they are already successful in their field. In the long run competitiveness may results in exceed pressures. Competitive is detrimental for people because it leads to low self-esteem. Nobody can always be a winner, and too many competitions around forces us to be competitive. When we lose, feeling inferior to others or even be left behind of life. In a long run, it is not healthy to our physical and metal well-being, which may result low self-esteem. In conclusion, even though competitiveness encourages people to pursue better performance, it sometimes also overloaded people with pressure, which could be harmful for people ’s well-being. Therefore, competitiveness has a damaging impact on people.