The best way to solve the world’s environmental problem is to increase the price of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a controversial perspective heating up a debate whether the most effective solution to the global environmental issue is to drastically raise fuel prices. However, I consider myself an opponent of this idea because I would contend that it is not the best tactic to address this dire problem. Evidently, the global environmental issue cannot be solved by making the cost of fuel criminally expensive. With the current travel demand and there is no other energy being able to fully substitute for fuel, especially gasoline, not only do residents keep on consuming it, but they also have to spare a great deal of money. In other words, despite the immense hike in fuel prices, toxic exhaust fumes are still being emitted by means of transportation, which contaminates the environment. For instance, although the cost of this conventional energy is ever-increasingly exorbitant in Hanoi, the capital of Vietnam, the number of users here does not decline. Moreover, this city has an alarming level of air pollution. Therefore, increasing the price of fuel cannot be considered a far-reaching measure to the world's environmental problem. It is obvious that there is a wealth of potential ways to deal with this severe difficulty. Clearly, one of them is choosing carbon-free and eco-friendly energy rather than traditional ones. If renewable sources are applied on a mass scale, the environment will be considerably improved because they reduce exhaust emission. Hydropower, solar and wind energy can be cited as some examples. Hence, consuming inexhaustible sources is a long-term solution to enhance the environmental conditions. In conclusion, making the fuel's cost prohibitively unaffordable is not the best measure to address the global problem of the environment. Nonetheless, there are other innumerable tactics that need to be concerned.