Learning English at schools is often seen as more important than local languages. If these are not taught many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it more important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure survival of local languages and if so, how?

It is widely believed that prioritizing teaching English at schools, will be more beneficial for the future compared to focusing on local languages. Personally, I strongly disagree with this view for a few reasons. To begin with, I believe that by only focusing on English, kids are not being taught about their origin and native culture, which is expressed through their mother language. This can cause a significant impact as the history and language of entire civilizations are at risk of dying out, reducing the diversity of mankind. In fact, it has been shown by Oxford University that over the last century, we have lost over 100 languages and their associated cultures, as globalization accelerates in the 20th century. Even though we can't deny the importance of English in the modern world, ensuring the survival of local languages is also important to me, as it's preserving what makes humanity so special, the diverse stories told from different corners of the world. To accomplish this objective, one of the proposed solutions I have is to make these language classes accessible and appealing to everyone. This can be done by promoting traditional customs by focusing on the cultural products of a country, ensuring that it will appeal to a younger generation which then inspires them to discover the country's culture as a whole. As an example, the Korean Wave of cultural products have moved beyond the boundaries of its home country, appealing to people all around the world which resulted in an 80% rise in the demand to learn Korean. In conclusion, due to the rise of English, local languages have been deemed less important and are at risk of going extinct. However, I believe that through the effective promotion of a country /culture's beauty, we can rekindle the demand for the respective language, sustaining the diversity of human society.