Some schools agree that fast-food restaurants and supermarkets can promote their products in school and that schools benefit from it. Is it a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, schools try to generate additional revenue by allowing restaurants and supermarkets to open their outlets inside school premises. Although such practices increase the profit for the management, I believe that these developments have many drawbacks related to healthy eating and are certainly a negative development. Allowing fast- food chains to sell their products will draw future generations into unhealthy lifestyles. Instead of eating healthy home-cooked items such as leafy vegetables, fruits and cereals, students might find these easily accessible junk food and snacks sold in the school cafeterias more tasty and appetizing. For instance, young children tend to eat chips and cold drinks containing nearly zero nutrients during recess over nutritious alternatives. Consequently, the younger generation may fail to understand the benefits of eating nutrient-rich foodstuff and this could lead them to unhealthy food habits in the future. Another reason for banning ready-made meals is they might lead to overeating and weight-related diseases. Indeed, food such as pizzas, burgers and other processed food sold in restaurants and supermarkets usually try to enhance the taste and colour by including flavour enhancers and preservatives that contain high amounts of salt, sugar or fat which could adversely affect the wellbeing of individuals. If such meals are included daily at schools, Young students who are already leading a sedentary lifestyle might become overweight and develop related diseases including diabetes. Thus, management should encourage healthy eating inside the school premises to prevent children from spoiling their health. In conclusion, it is clear that including food outlets inside educational institutes selling unhealthy food could be detrimental to children's health as they lead to obesity and develop damaging health practices.