Explain why you intend to pursue your masters in finance studies at this time.?

When I was a little girl at school I always asked my mother -singing the Que Cerra- song …Ma -what will I be..will be….my mother replied you will be a rich girl like your dad. What does dad do Ma..?…” Business mom replied. From that time I knew I was destined to study business. I used to keep awake every single night just to hear dad ’s footsteps in the corridor sometimes feeble sometimes tromping. though dad dragged himself after a day’s hard work. I would sleep only after hearing dads loud laughter when he shared his success stories with mom, but sometimes it was an unbroken silence. I often questioned mom but never got a clear answer. Mom would sometimes ignore my queries, but dad told me there were bad days and good days in business and the show must go on. Eventually, when I came to know of the huge loss in our family business, it was then that I decided to take up Masters in financial management and risk management. Complying with laws and regulations at all levels (local, state, national, and in other countries where my company operates). My first step in pursuing the goal was my graduation.I took BSE course (Bombay stock exchange course) through which I got to know how much I love studying about finance and investments. I have always believed in the expression “where there is a will, there is a way. ” I was by then strongly inclined towards having a career in finance Management and risk management. No better place than the MCGILL I concluded. Moreover, I am also preparing for CFA level to boost to my skills. Secondly, my teachers have always said I really know how to apply myself—especially when faced with something new and particularly demanding. Our business suffered the loss because there were no calculations done.” Mathematics of Finance is of utmost importance”, echoed in my ears,from the college lectures-which could help me translate a value today into a value at some future point in time and calculate the outcome of the investment made. Perhaps this should help me manage risk in financial investments. I think that is why I have chosen one of the best colleges in Canada - the McGill University and it provides the Master’s which I always wanted to pursue to achieve my goals and NEVER have to face financial distress. My mentors always quoted John Adams “There are two types of education…. One should teach us how to make a living, and the other how to live.” Who would not want to achieve both? In conclusion, having graduated from the best in financial industry, with an opportunity to work with Desautels focused on sustainable investments and financial management, risk management, risk identification, risk assessment, risk mitigation, and risk transferring, the process of risk management will help me determine which risks to accept, which to neutralize, and which to transfer. Eventually I will know how to do everything, financially. We'll see it from tomorrow on and it will be, will be that which has to be…Que Cerra Cerra.