It is commonly believed that nowadays main factors that affect a child's development are media, pop culture and friends. A different point of view is that family plays the most significant role. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

A child's development depends on various factors, like the things he is watching and the people he spends the time with. It is often argued that media, pop culture and friends play a significant role in the child's development, while others believe that family plays a vital role. This essay agrees that the media and friends affect the overall growth of a child. Childhood is the only phase that moulds children towards positive or negative development and prepares them for the future. Nowadays, most kids spend their childhood in daycare centres, where they spend more than 8 hours with their friends. So, the thinking of his friends, as well as the media and the pop culture they follow, plays a significant role in his growth. According to the report from BBC, more than 70% of American youth want to become an artist just because they grew up watching them. However, some advocates believe the family plays a significant role in the child's development. Nowadays, people's lives have become so busy that they can barely spend a few hours with their kids; still, they pass the basic manners and culture to their children. There are many aspects of life, like ethics, good practices, and many cultural values that differentiate a person from being good or bad, that are learned by a child from the parents. For instance, Asian kids have more respect towards their elders as compared to Western kids just because they spend more time with their families. To conclude, media and friends have their role whereas the family has its own towards a child's development. In my opinion, as the world is getting more advanced and parents are getting busier, the media and friends influence a child more than their families.