With growing popoulations in cities, more and more people live in homes with little or no outdoor space. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Modern lifestyle in the cities has led people to a new adaptation of small accommodations with little to no outdoor areas. As an urban citizen, I believe such a trend brings great benefits for the city residents. To begin with, there are a few setbacks when choosing this type of living place. Firstly, settling in houses or apartments with limited space is quite inconvenient and unsuitable for people who possess a large amount of furniture. Often, these individuals prefer purchasing new accessories without wanting to dispose of the old ones first. Thus, a small home would not be enough for both items storing and living. Secondly, outdoor areas will not be available to access immediately when people decide to have some activities or family sports. Instead, they will have to go to nearby public areas or parks in order to participate in these sorts of activities, which could waste some time. However, the benefits of living in small places are far more favourable. Since the price of personal accommodations has gone up drastically and quickly for the past recent years, individuals, especially immigrants from remote areas, can save themselves a tremendous amount of money. Subsequently, this extra fund could be reallocated to some other important purposes such as children’s education, life expense, or private vehicles. Furthermore, with the establishment of more small apartments, the city authorities are able to rearrange the distribution of local residents and reorganize some areas. For example, building blocks and public parks in Ho Chi Minh City are now in separated areas and in order, which makes the whole city look more organized. In conclusion, while living in small spaces has some drawbacks, this tendency still proves to be a positive development.