Many children are encoraged by their parents to get a part time. What are the advantages and disadvantage to children of doing so?

A new tendency appeared lately, parents are encouraging their offspring to get a part-time job. Several advantages may arouse from this approach, offspring become more responsible for example. However, numerous drawbacks could also appear. This essay will discuss the benefits and the disadvantages of this technique. First and foremost, getting a part-time job at an early age will undoubtedly make adolescents more responsible and ready to face the real world. Indeed, after hours of labour, teenagers will realize that money is valuable, they will surely be more grateful to their parents. For example, I had a friend who was spoiled by his parents, one day they forced him to start a part-time activity at fast food, this made him realize that money does not grow on trees and made him much more responsible. Moreover, this can also be beneficial for the families that struggle to make the ends meet, since children would be able to help pay bills. On the other hand, this approach can be harmful and damaging for offspring. Kids entering the work market will not be able to pursue further education, thus they will later have a basic profession that requires no high qualification. Furthermore, it is believed that at early ages children should spend more time playing with their friends and congeners in order to develop social skills and assets. For instance, a survey conducted by educators stated that individuals that worked during their adolescence suffer from a lack of emotional and social skills. To summarize, even though working a part-time job can have numerous benefits for children such as making them more responsible, there are several drawbacks to this approach.