Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Human beings have inhabited this planet for a very small duration as compared to most of the trees and animals around us. But, we have created a menace around here in such a little time. Some people think that the loss of some plant and animal species are the biggest concern of our time while few others believe that there are some more important environmental problems. Let us discuss each point of view individually. First of all, deforestation all over the globe has led to the reduction in the number of many important trees. For example, most carnivorous plants like the pitcher plant are on the verge of extinction. Similarly, poaching has already washed out dozens of birds, reptiles and animals from the globe such as the dodo in Malaysia or the Tasmanian tiger. Hence, there is no doubt about the fact that this is one of our top priority concerns. However, a group of climate change activists consider that there are different sets of difficulties that should be given more importance at present. For instance, the incessant water pollution happening because of the runoff from factories, plastic waste and oil spillages. Also, global warming is a major threat looming on us caused chiefly because of toxic, greenhouse gases being released into the atmosphere. This can partly be attributed to deforestation as well. In conclusion, I would like to say that all our major concerns are intertwined in some way or the other. As a result, it is a matter of great urgency that enough awareness is generated about these difficulties in the eyes of the general public. Also, all activists should work together in order to find the best solutions. This is the only way in which we dream of a better future for the new generation of humans.