There seems to be an increasing trend towards assessing students through exams rather than continual assessment. What are the advantages and disadvantages of exams as a form of assessment?

There seems to be an increasing trend towards assessing students through exams rather than continual assessment. What are the advantages and disadvantages of exams as a form of assessment? In recent years, more schools are inclined towards the idea of conducting yearly or at most bi-yearly examinations rather than the traditional method of periodic evaluation throughout the year. A few folks agree with the school board’s decision, while others state that it causes unjustifiable anxiety in children for end-of-year assessments as they only get one chance to succeed. In this essay, I am going to elaborate on a few merits and demerits. The major perk of conducting fewer assessments is that teenagers can participate in extra-curricular activities, which ensures not only academic growth but also overall growth. Even today, young learners feel stressed due to the amount of homework they receive and always complain about the inadequate time they are left with for stress-relieving activities like outdoor games, singing, dancing, and many more, which used to be virtually non-existent in the past due to multiple monthly assessments. Furthermore, a few adolescents belong to the economically weaker section, and they have to work part-time jobs to accommodate their expenses and fees. So, having fewer evaluations means more time for them to earn. On the other hand, there are certain demerits to having examinations. Firstly, students only have a few chances to achieve good marks in that grade, which can result in a phobia for exams. In addition to that, it can encourage them to use unethical methods to score well in exams. Furthermore, there are a plethora of unforeseeable situations that alter students ' performance. To conclude, there are certain disadvantages to conducting fewer exams, but many of them can be eliminated with proper planning and by educating students regarding how to tackle exams appropriately.