Some parents want their children to read-only educational books and consider entertaining books a waste of time. Do you agree with their opinion? Why?

The benefits of reading in childhood cannot be denied. However, some people suggest that children should only read books that educate them, and they discourage reading for entertainment, claiming that such readings do not have value. I disagree with such an extreme view and think that parents should help their offspring find the right balance between different genres of books. So-called “entertaining books ” that are read for pleasure enable children to develop in different ways than they do with the educational report. Such books help children experience situations they have not encountered in real life, thus teaching them essential human values. For instance, children can learn the meaning of true friendship and loyalty early on through reading books. Most importantly, these are entertainment books that help children fall in love with reading and make them more willing to read serious books as well. Although I strongly disagree with the idea that youngsters should not be allowed to read books for pleasure, I see why some parents may have this negative attitude towards some books. Books about frivolous subjects might make one think they can teach nothing. Not surprisingly, some parents would not want their children to spend time reading them. Another problem may arise if children spend all of their time reading books for fun instead of developing themselves by choosing books that could help them learn specific skills or gain knowledge that may help them later in their professional lives. However, there are not many reasons for parents to forbid the reading of entertaining books altogether. Instead, parents should recommend books to their children to help them develop a taste for enriching and quality writing. In conclusion, I strongly disagree with the statement that all entertaining books are useless for children, as I believe they are necessary for developing various human values and love for reading. However, I do acknowledge that some books may have less educational value, and thus parents should attempt to influence the kind of books that their offspring read.