In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

In the modern world, learners before higher education are advocated to take a gap year in order to commence working life or experience trips abroad. Although this preference has some merits, demerits are available and should be considered. Both ideas linked to the topic will be outlined in the following paragraphs. To begin with, the foremost beneficial sides are that individuals would have opportunities to explore other countries deeply before beginning university, and also they could realize the benefits of the business world as they will experience this life. To elaborate, universities will likely be hectic, and students will not probably have time to travel to other countries. However, this gap year will offer them this chance. In addition to this, in the event high school graduates choose to work, since they will start to gain money, they will understand the power of having money, and therefore they will become more concentrated to complete university challenges. For instance, this implementation is on the rise in Turkey, and it has been observed that the youth became much more dedicated to finishing their tasks compared to the past. On the other hand, this has particular drawbacks that should be noted. In the first place, they may not want to return, or students may put them in danger. To enlarge on, since they must study to graduate from universities, they may want to abandon this task. Because they will not be obliged to do anything in this gap period, and they may want to continue this comfortable living standard. Furthermore, students will be outside and free, so they will be exposed to ideas that can have detrimental impacts on their life. Unless they protect themselves from such ideas, the ultimate result would be probably jail or even worse. For example, it has been reported recently that the number of young people who are put in jail has risen significantly in Canada, and these increased numbers consist of pupils who took a year break. To conclude, after having a glance at the above explanation, it is clear that this choice has particular benefits and adverse points. These people could see the advantages of having a job and enjoy travelling all over the world, nevertheless, they could leave studying and put themselves in jeopardy.