Many people today do not feel safe either at home or when they are out. What are the causes? What are the solutions?

In the present day, with the advance of technology, many people find a variety of solutions to feel safer, however, one part of them still feel deprotected. The safety of citizens ought to be a field with more investment in order to build a better society. Because of this, it is essential to understand the possible causes to solve this problem with efficient solutions. First and foremost, due to the increase of violence in many centres, mainly in metropolitan cities, the majority of individuals feel unsafe both at home and outside. For instance, according to research published by Harvard University, 73% of American citizens save money to invest in personal safety and security. So one effective solution to address this current situation is the investment in state-of-the-art equipment related to security such as video, cameras, alarms, and electronic systems surveillance. Secondly, another possible reason for this hardship is the amount of negative information posted on social media. Moreover, because of the pandemic, the number of detrimental information doubled in the last two years. Take a survey carried out by The New York Times as an example, it says that the likelihood of mental disorders in people who consume this content is three times higher. Therefore, one possible solution to overcome the difficulties raised by this problem is to mitigate the usage of social media. Finally, some individuals may present mental disorders and psychological problems such as anxiety and schizophrenia which can lead to the increase of fear related to safety. Furthermore, these situations are like a vicious circle, if they do not be treated, they will become more prevalent. So for these reasons, a convenient answer is therapy and medical treatment so as to recover the quality of life. In conclusion, fear has become present among individuals regardless of motivation, however, it is vital to find a solution in order to maintain a daily routine without more setbacks and hardships since people need not only to stay at home but also go outside. In other words, both ambiences are necessary for our lives.