In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative situation?

People in some places find having a house better compared to renting. This essay believes that one of the reasons for this is that having a home is seen as a form of stability, and in my opinion this is a negative situation because nowadays housing is very expensive and most people's income is not enough to afford that. In some countries, owning their own house is seen as a sign of stability, because when you own your own place, even if your income stops or something bad happens, at the very least you will have a roof over your head. Aside from that, owning a house means that you do not need to worry about paying rent each month, or worrying that the landlord might change the function of the house they are renting for something else. This is a very real issue that happens to a lot of people. A study showed that a lot of people were displaced from the place they were renting when COVID-19 happened because they could not afford to pay their rent. Taking a loan is becoming the only option to own a property for many people. This is because the prices of properties is getting higher and higher as time goes on, even to the point where some studies said that most people of Generation Z would not be able to afford to buy a house in their lifetime. You cannot dream of buying even a small house in cash. As a result, the only option for the majority of folks is to take a loan to buy a house. With that happening, owning their own place with the hopes of leading a stable and comfortable life might end with them being in debt for most if not all of their lives. With a loan, you have the responsibility to pay for the property you are buying and also the interest that comes with it. You also have the responsibility to pay for the maintenance of the house, which with some rented homes you do not have to do. When summed up, that might be even more expensive compared to renting a home, even with inflation taken into consideration. In conclusion, the preference for owning over renting houses might come from the desire for stability. This essay believes that this is a negative situation because property is becoming harder and harder to afford, considering the skyrocketing price of housing while the income of people stays the same.