Some schools have restricted the use of mobile phones. Is this a positive development or a negative one?

With the advent of technology, numerous schools have permitted the usage of mobile phones. While it has been observed that these devices foster safety among students and aid in connecting, the effects that their usage has been adverse. In my opinion, this is a positive development because it not only boosts learning but is also beneficial in terms of their well-being. Restricting phone use in the classroom itself can improve learning. It is an irrefutable fact that due to the continuous notifications received, the mind can wander away resulting in the student getting distracted quite effortlessly. There is a constant urge to check one’s mobile, for example, whenever it buzzes leading to depletion of concentration in the class. As a result, the attention span drastically falls down thus greatly impacting grades and performance. The lesser usage of phones, the higher will be the academic progress. It is true that if there is excessive use of mobile, the repercussions one can have on their overall health will be tremendous. Additionally, rather than spending time with their classmates or playing on the ground, their eyes are glued to the screen thereby leading to the connection with the virtual world rising. Squandering exorbitant time on phones, for instance, makes them not attend the physical training classes because their preferences have been changed to sitting and enjoying on their phone. Hence, once the number of hours surges up, the laziness escalates making them physically and mentally drowned causing diseases such as obesity, loneliness and other mental health issues. In conclusion, to ensure that the health of the students is not compromised and their study is not affected, I affirm that such laws have a far positive impact on them in the long run.