Some people think that platic shopping bags should be banned because they contribute to land and sea pollution. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays the question of whether the government should ban plastic shopping bags due to their contribution to land and sea pollution has been receiving a great deal of public attention. I totally agree with the statement because of some reasons mentioned below. First, there are a number of reasons why plastic bags pollute the land. They can often be dumped in the landfill, so plastic molecules mix in the land. This means that they would deteriorate human health in such a way that leads to diseases like food poisoning. They could be called “ The silent killers of the human body ”. Moreover, they contained vibrant colours so they could toxicate their content,and adversely affect the users’ health who use them frequently. For example, in 2004, a lot of farmers got sick in Mumbai, India because they used to grow vegetables in the area which was used to dump the plastic waste. Second, plastic bags affect not only land but also the sea seriously. If people cast them into the ocean, the marine species will swallow plastic bags with their food, which hinder animals’ digestive progress and push them to the brink of death. According to a report by the World Health Organization has revealed that every year, ten million fishes die on account of the consumption of polythene. Unless there is a stop in the use of plastic bags, the extinction of rare marine species will make the situation worse. In conclusion, I advocate that forbidding the use of plastic bags is an essential action. The authority should invest more money in producing alternative products for people to use in their daily lives.