Some people think that excessive use of smartphones badly affects teenagers' literacy skills. Do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that the excessive reliance of juveniles on technological equipment such as mobile phones can have some obvious adverse consequences on their academic achievement. In my opinion,I strongly believe that this trend has both positive and negative effects on their literacy competencies. On the one hand, I agree that the dependence of teenagers on their smartphones can affect negatively the development of their reading and writing knowledge. Firstly, when youngers spend a considerable amount of time on these devices, they will undoubtedly have not sufficient time for their academic studies. Consequently, their performance in school will be decreased and then their literacy skills will be affected negatively. Secondly, If students become more related to technological equipment, they will tend to become lazy and less related to physical activities, which are important to the physical and mental development of juveniles and also to their academic performance because they will become demotivated to work hard and develop their knowledge. On the other hand,it is also true that the proper use of this gadget can have a positive effect on reading and writing knowledge. There are multiple useful apps on phones that provide the learning of new languages. For example, Duolingo and Elsa are valuable applications that are available on the Play Store and provide useful learning of English, if these apps are used regularly by students, they improve rapidly their English competencies. Moreover, reading some short articles every day on smartphones on websites such as Wikipedia can boost the reading skills of learners. In conclusion, it seems to me that the use of electronic equipment items such as smartphones can have both advantages and drawbacks for the reading and writing skills of users, depending on the way they are used.