Many people go to university for academic study. More people should be encouraged to do vocational training because there is a lack of qualified workers such as electricians and plumbers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, a large number of people study academic subjects at university instead of attending / taking part in / partaking in vocational training courses. While I accept that a university degree is also essential and beneficial, I totally agree that we should encourage people to become qualified workers, such as electricians or plumbers. There are two important reasons why more vocationally trained workers are required. Firstly, when buildings are constructed or repaired, a source of electricians, plumbers, or other trades is vital. For example, material facilities in some key fields, such as hospitals, schools, or museums, usually need to be expanded or maintained. Having trained workers operate such / those kinds of work can not only ensure the safety of the buildings but also lead to an improvement in the quality of life of the whole community. Secondly, there are too many academic graduates in the same major in some countries every year. Consequently, the proportion of graduate unemployment is increasing each year significantly as well. Therefore, some countries need to ensure that extra vocational training is provided. More people should be encouraged to attend career-oriented courses / on-the-job training to meet society's needs. The schools should not just focus on exam-driven curriculum, which is found to be quite impractical and disheartens / demotivates students when they have low grades. Schools, therefore, must make changes in the curriculum and provide workshops to teach practical skills. Parents should also encourage their children to find out their gifts and explain the good job prospects to inspire them to choose vocational careers. In conclusion, I agree that it is essential that we encourage more people to attend vocational training due to the fact that the more qualified workers meet society's needs, the more our society can function effectively.