Many people today are worried about the large quantities of waste produced by ordinary households. What problems are caused by household waste, and what solutions may be possible in both the short and the long term?

One of the biggest problems in the contemporary world is the amount of trash produced by citizens each day. This issue became more significant with population growth. The issues related to the huge quantities of waste produced by households can lead to a multitude of negative consequences, but steps can definitely be taken to tackle this problem. The first and most important result of producing huge amounts of waste is that littering could be extremely harmful to the environment; many diseases are caused by environmental pollution. For instance, there is a place called Saravan which is situated in the north of Iran. All thrashes produced by people go directly to a river near Saravan. Statistics showed that many people who live in Saravan are vulnerable to many infections, and also the number of individuals who get cancer is considerably more than in other places in Iran. Secondly, it could negatively affect the ecosystem; many birds and other species eat the leftover food which can be harmful for them. Lastly, destroying a large portion of waste is costly. A huge portion of yearly budgets are allocated to get rid of waste. Problems related to producing waste could be addressed. I believe that governments could mitigate this problem in both long-term and short-term periods. Nowadays, with the rapid growth of technology, many countries recycle many types of thrashes. For example, it is a good approach to recycle waste like cans, papers, metals, and other usable materials. Also, informing children from an early age in school, and at home about the effects of littering could be beneficial in the long term period. At the same time, instituting a regulation against using disposable objects could be another good attitude to alleviate the problem. In conclusion, the issues related to waste produced by households will remain if governments and citizens do not take measures to tackle this problem.