Home Schooling has become very popular in recent years. However, most people still believe that attending schools is the best way to obtain formal education. What are the advantages and disadvantages of home-schooling?

Nowadays it is observed that a new trend of home-schooling started to be practised by some many parents. On the other hand, there are people that think it is not a good idea to obtain a solid education. The following paragraphs take a look at both sides of the argument. Firstly, some advantages of home-schooling can be found. One of them, is the opportunity to organize the time and the subjects considering children needs. This means that children can learn at their own pace because the program has been modified based on their interests and learning styles. Specially this kind of approach could be more suitable for children with disabilities or special needs. Furthermore, secure environment can be provided for the child, where there are no dangers of being bullying or badly influenced by other pupils. From the other hand, there are also negative aspects to this new trend. To start with, the children will miss the vital aspect of school which is socialization with other children with the same age. Interacting with their peers is essential to develop all sorts of skills like problem- solving, team work and leadership, all of which are important for the future professional life. In addition, no matter how much effort parents can put into making the home resemble the school environment, they will never be able to match the resources and extra-curricular activities that are available in schools, such as musical instruments, gyms or learn a different language. All of which allow students to discover their talents and passions. To sum up, it is evident that home-schooling can be beneficial for some children but considering it limitations, parents should analyze all aspects before deciding how to educate their children.