Some people believe that technology has made man more sociable, and others think that it has made us less sociable. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Technology has gained height in the last decade. Some people feel that technology has helped in developing their communication skills, while others might argue that it has made them more anti-social. I strongly agree that technological advancement has greatly improved the social behaviour within a community. Some people, on the one hand, feel that, with the help of technology, they have been able to interact with others in a better way. This is because of social platforms such as Facebook provide good tools for the population to socialise in their free time. For example, there is a video options available where people are allowed to make video calls in foreign countries. Hence, distant relatives are able to see each other and sharing of ideas become easier. In these interactive softwares, man develop their communication styles and feel more confident about themselves. Therefore, this has increased their potential of communicating with others in a positive way. On the other hand, we do have some people who believe that these innovations have made their social life worse. People tend to spend more time on their laptop surfing or playing video games virtually instead of interacting with real people. Consequently, when they meet new people, they are less willing to start a conversation and prefer to stick to their mobile phone. For instance, they find it difficult to have a physical face-to-face discussion as they are not used to these situations. In conclusion, the technology has both its benefits and drawbacks about socialisation. However, I believe that if technology is used in the correct way, it increases the social character of any individuals.