Tourism has increased so much over the last 50 years that is having a mainly negative impact on local inhabitants and the environment. However, others claim that is good for the economy. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of tourism and give your own opinion.

There are some individuals who would argue that the number of tourists has risen so much in the last 50 years and this trend has a detrimental effect on local communities and the environment. Other people think that this is beneficial for economic reasons. To begin with, I am of the belief that travelling is playing a pivotal role for many countries` economy. Nations like Greece, which is my country, depends on that and 25% of its income are from travellers. Without this many citizens, especially on islands and waterfront areas, would be live in poverty. Apart from that, this tendance is conducive to many folks in order to find a seasonal job. For illustration, the majority of young adults in Greece work in the summer as waiters or waitresses for a living. On the other hand, tourism has two predominant effects. First and foremost on environment. Never before have we seen so much pollution caused by people in order to visit another country. A clear illustration of this, could be said to be that recent research from environmentalists in Greece has shown that a 50% of the tourists in Greece pollute our beaches and forests because they leave their trashes there. Another distinct disadvantage of travelling is that impairs the local societies. For example, in,Zante many tourists get drunk and make damage to local shops and citizens` cars. So, I believe that this rampant trend can be mitigated if tourist change their habits and also governments contribute to this. For instance, ministries could promote eco-tourism. To sum up, in my point of view tourists should not be decreased in order to tackle these problems. I think that only by the concerted effort of governments and tourists can this issue be eliminated.