Should government make decisions about people's lifestyle or should people make their own decisions?

In this globalized world, the lifestyle of people has changed dramatically from the old to the new generations. It is argued that the government has a right to decide its citizens' way of living, while others counterclaim that every individual has the liberty to determine their fate. I partially agree with this given idea. Strong evidence to support my perspective is elaborated in the ensuing paragraphs. On the one hand, governance plays an essential role in people's lives as the backbone. The first and foremost reason for letting the authorities decide the lifestyles is that some public has many bad habits that could adversely influence the public. For instance, if there is no law prohibiting smoking in public, numerous innocents may suffer from lung problems because they incidentally inhale smoke from others. Secondly, other addictive drugs and alcohol can threaten the quality of their lives. Significantly, the increasing number of addicts can diminish the operational productivity of the nation. Moreover, some rules and regulations are made up for better equality and unity among the residents. For example, management collects taxes from the affluent community, provides necessary schemes for the poor folks' survival, and supports every religion equally to maintain unity. On the flip side, it is indisputable that the executive's profound interference can seize one's freedom. In some provinces, the inhabitants do not have free speeches, and they can not speak up against the offence even though they witness it with their own eyes. Additionally, the independence of choosing own's lifestyle helps to boost up their soft skills. To exemplify this, when someones make their life-related decisions, they instil a sense of self-control and self-confidence over their lives. Furthermore, the autonomy to figure out the style of life will help to discover personal interests, willingness, skills and mindsets quickly. In conclusion, I firmly agree that people should make their own choice for their lifestyles. However, governments can use their regime to restrict inadequate lifestyles and foster superior habits.