In some countries, the cost of living is rapidly increasing. What do you think may be the reasons for this? What effects might this have on society?

Is not a secret to anyone that life, generally, is becoming more expensive as the years pass by. There are some hypotheses about it, I will be talking about the two that I consider are the main ones, tourism and climate crisis. This increase could dramatically hit the global population, with emphasis on the situation of the poorest people. Firstly, over the last few years, Spain has become the most visited country in the world as it has nice weather, great citizens, an enriching culture and, of course, tasty food. Travellers enjoy all the wonders the country offers, however, Spaniards are not as happy as the visitors. The rapid growth of tourism has caused the augment of rent prices all over the territory, focusing on the principal cities. For instance, in Barcelona, neighbours have been protesting lately in order to protect their city from the lack of apartments as the majority of them are now temporary rents; as a result, locals cannot afford the cost of living there anymore and have to move out. Thus, people with fewer resources have to face higher barriers. Secondly, the temperature rise has been causing severe weather conditions that have led to the destruction of cultures. This crisis implies that food production is been strongly affected, consequently, there is a lack of aliments in some areas, while in others the price has increased. For example, the production charge of corn has now almost doubled in comparison with 10 years ago, as a result, meat obtained from the animals that are fed with that aliment has increased too. This whole issue is related to the cost of live climb, directly affecting society as some parts are not able to pay for the increments of these ailments, provoking bad nutrition in the population. To summarize, the growth of the cost of life is caused by several reasons, all of which are deteriorating physical and mental health.