In some countries, only a few young people go to classical music concerts or play classical music. Why is this the case? Should young people be encouraged to attend those concerts and learn more about classical music?

There is a tremendously controversial statement heating a debate over the fact that the younger generation is gradually losing enthusiasm for classical music. This essay is devoted to some of the underlying culprits of this phenomenon and I would contend that the younger's interest in this genre of music should be greatly ignited. There are several reasons that lead to the deterioration of young attendants in classical music. It is evident that the global music industry has experienced significant alterations recently with the emergence of an eclectic mix of new types of music that draw such a great appeal to people from all walks of life. For instance, international pop music such as EDM, Lofi, Jazz is catchier and more vibrant than classical albums with vivid sound effects and high-quality music videos that are produced by using top-notch technology. Hence, due to the appearance of wide range of types of music that result in fewer youngsters’ attention to classical melody. Despite being relatively old-fashioned and no longer suiting the current music trend, classical music still should be transferred to the next generation since they are worthy art masterpieces. Notably, classical music possesses the long-standing culture, customs and history of a nation whereas the predominant of modern music purely emphasizes profit expansion rather than the core values of that piece of music. Therefore, passing down these immortal pieces of art such as the Sonata Moonlight by Beethoven to the young can render a huge contribution in preserving them from extinction. Without a shadow of a doubt, it is of paramount significance to ignite a great passion in the youngsters for this invaluable musical genre. In conclusion, while it is true that traditional music might not suit teenagers’ music taste compared to the past, owing to the values that they possess, youngsters should be encouraged more to take part in traditional music concerts and classes.