The personal information of many individuals is held by large internet companies and organisations. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In the present day, with the advance of globalization and technology, access to personal information by third parties is a primary concern in any society. Although some citizens strive to maintain this information in safety, the usage of cutting-edge equipment by companies and organizations to access them has become increasingly popular. From my point of view, the disadvantages of this current situation outweigh the advantages. One of the main drawbacks of this is the release of dates, in other words, the leaking of dates can lead to concerning setbacks. Moreover, when this information is released there are more risks of cybercrimes. For instance, according to research published by Harvard University, at least four in ten American citizens already had their private number identification card utilized wrongly by other people. Another negative side related to this current situation is the lack of privacy. Furthermore, not only fake news but also bullying are directly associated with privacy. Take a survey carried out by The New York Times as an example, it says that when individuals are struggling with bullying or fake news about them, they tend to present three times more chances of depression and anxiety, resulting in a deterioration in their mental health. There are, however, some benefits. These individuals have more access to promotions of products according to their taste. For example, if a man, who is interested in a state-of-the-art laptop, is browsing on Facebook, however, previous minutes he has visited some websites, because of the algorithms, he will receive on Facebook plenty of advertisements of laptop and products related to this equipment. In addition, when this situation happened, he has more options not only of price but also of quality. In other words, he may take a decision with more awareness of his choice. In conclusion, the advance in technology has been changeable in our society. It is vital in order to ameliorate our lives, however, it is of paramount importance a perfect balance as so to have more safety for the citizens and security for society.